Drinking in America is legal for 21 years old and above, however, there is an extent to which locals can have fun. You will find the required bar closing time in one state to be different from when bars shut in another. Failure to adhere to the strict drinking times set by the various governments is an offense.
In this article, we look at the times by which bars in respective US states become halt their business for the next day.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Alabama bars close at 2 a.m. and are not allowed to open again at 9 a.m. Alabama is not a dry state. However, Alabama counties have the choice to pick whether to be a wet or dry state.
The law allows licensed bars in Alaska to only serve alcohol from 8 a.m. to 5 a.m. except during voting day. On election days, bartenders are not allowed to open their premises. Only employees should be on the premises by the time it is the last call.
After 2 a.m. bars are not allowed to serve alcohol to their customers in Arizona. It is also illegal for customers to touch their alcoholic drinks any time between 2:30 a.m. and 6 a.m.
In Arkansas, bars are not allowed to operate after the clock ticks 2 a.m. Nevertheless, clubs that have private members can close as late as 5 a.m.
Bars in California are supposed to close by 2 a.m. but in some counties like San Jose, customers take their last sip at 1:30 a.m. A bill failed to pass that allowed cities to shut clubs by 4 a.m. back in 2017.
Like in California, individual cities disagreed on a bill to extend the closing times of bars to 4 a.m. Closing time for Colorado bars remained at 2 a.m.
Bars in Connecticut close at 2 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays. On other days of the week, the closing time is at 1 a.m. The law has an exception for New Year’s Eve. Bars can close at 3 a.m.
The last call time in Delaware is 1 a.m. But bars can still open till 2 a.m. The 1 hour period is for allowing customers to clear up any drinks they have. Nonetheless, bartenders cannot serve any drinks to people this time.
The law in Florida states that bars stop their operations at 2 a.m. But cities like Tampa, Tallahassee, and Miami can be open until 3 a.m., 4 a.m., and 5 a.m. respectively. Fort Lauderdale bars also stay open until 4 a.m.
Laws of Georgia state that bars finish serving drinks to people by 2 a.m. In the city of Atlanta, clubs close late at 2:30 a.m.
Bar operations halt at 2 a.m. in Hawaii. But, a few clubs in Waikiki serve drinks until as late as 4 a.m.
See related: Kihei Vs Lahaina
The time to close bars in big cities like Boise is 2 a.m. Smaller cities continue normal operations until 1 a.m.
The required time to stop serving drinks at bars in Illinois is 2 a.m. But, clubs with a late-night license in Chicago can continue operations until 5 a.m. on Saturday and 4 a.m. on other days of the week.
Bars in the state of Indiana have a 3 a.m. last call.
People can enjoy their alcoholic drinks in Iowa clubs till as late as 2 a.m.
For the bars in Kansas, the time to stop serving alcohol to customers is the same with other states at 2 a.m. People require a club membership to sell alcohol in some counties.
Although the time for closing bars is 2 a.m., some bars in Louisville can sell alcohol until 4 a.m. but they need a special license.
Bars in most cities operate 24/7. However, there are other places that have a closing time. Baton Rouge, for instance, limits clubs to run until 2 a.m.
The bars and clubs in Maine close at 1 a.m. but on New Year’s Eve, they can close at 2 a.m. After that, there is a 15-minute time allowance for people to finish up their drinks, and leave the bar.
Bars in Maryland can stay open until 2 a.m. but in Baltimore, there is an exception. Bars can remain open from the morning of the 31st of December to 2 a.m. on the 2nd of January.
The normal closing time for cities in Massachusetts is 2 a.m. but in other cities, they close at 1 a.m. For the bars that are closing at 2 a.m., the last drink must be served at 1:30 a.m.
All bars close at 2 a.m. across all the major and small cities of Michigan.
Cities in Minnesota have their bar closing time at 2 a.m. like most states.
It is required that at 12 a.m. all the cities in Mississippi stop serving drinks. But in Clay County, the bars can still continue with the business until 2 a.m.
Bars can be open until 1:30 a.m. In other cities like St. Louis and Kansas City, bartenders can still keep serving until 3 a.m. if they have a special license.
Counties in Montana only allow the bars in the city to operate not later than 2 a.m.
Bars in Nebraska have a 1 a.m. last call time. However, clubs in Omaha and Lincoln can sell drinks until 2 a.m.
Bars in Nevada can operate for 24 hours. There is no limitation for counties on what time to close.
The bars stop serving drinks at 1 a.m.
In the state of New Jersey, there is no strict law requiring bars to close but most are shut at 2 a.m. In Atlantic City, bars can operate for 24 hours.
The law requires all the bars in New Mexico to operate until 2 a.m.
New York has a last 2 a.m. last call time. But for New York City, Albany, Saratoga Springs, and Buffalo, bartenders can serve drinks until 4 a.m.
All bars in North Carolina stop serving drinks at 2 a.m.
Bars keep operating until 1 a.m. except for other counties like Fargo which are open until 2 a.m.
Bars stop alcohol sales at 2 a.m. Some bars in Colombus operate until 2:30 a.m. with a special license.
The required time to close bars in Oklahoma is 2 a.m. However, out of the 77 counties in Oklahoma, 26 prohibit the sale of alcohol.
Counties in Oregon State allow bars to sell alcoholic drinks until 2:30 a.m.
Liquor sales in the bars stop at 2 a.m. People that still have drinks must leave the premises by 2:30 am. Other clubs that have a membership can close at 3 a.m.
Clubs in Rhode Island serve people drinks until 1 a.m. Providence bars are open until 2 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays.
The provided time to shut the bars is 2 a.m. But counties can set the time they want bar operations to stop. On Sundays, bars cannot operate but in municipalities like Aiken City, Columbia, Charleston, Greenville, North Augusta, Spartanburg, and Myrtle Beach alcohol sale is allowed.
In South Dakota, people are not allowed to order drinks in bars after the 2 a.m. last call time.
Bars are allowed to sell drinks until 3 a.m. Fourteen counties in Tennessee do not allow the sale of alcohol.
Bars are not allowed to sell alcohol after 2 a.m. in Texas.
It is the last call in Utah at 1 a.m. There is a 1-hour time allowance for bars to close at 2 a.m. This time bars cannot serve drinks.
2 a.m. is the time bars close in Vermont. On New Year’s Eve, bars can open until 3 a.m.
Bars can sell alcohol Monday through Sunday until 2 a.m. Bar and restaurant premises stop serving at 12 a.m.
Employees serving alcohol for on-premise consumption call it a day at 2 a.m.
Bars in West Virginia are open until 2 a.m. In Charleston City, bars close at 3 a.m. because their license allows that time.
Alcohol sales in bars are allowed until 2 a.m. on weekdays. During weekends, bars close at 2:30 a.m. On New Year’s Eve bars remain open for 24 hours. Municipalities are not permitted to restrict when or where alcohol should be sold in Wisconsin.
The required closing time for Wyoming bars is 2 a.m.